- An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
About [Location: HOME > History > Three Kingdoms > Shu-Han]

Chinese History - Shu-Han Dynasty 蜀漢 (221-263)

Periods of Chinese History
The Shu-Han dynasty 蜀漢 (221-263) ruled over one of the Three Kingdoms 三國 (220~280). It was founded by Liu Bei 劉備 (Emperor Zhaolie 漢昭烈帝, r. 221-222). While Shu 蜀 is the name of the region (modern Sichuan), the empire is also called Shu-Han because Liu Bei claimed descendancy of the ruling family of the Han dynasty 漢 (206 BCE-220 CE) and saw himself as the righteous successor to the Han, while historians rather gave preference to the Wei dynasty 曹魏 (220-265) that ruled over northern China.

Shu-Han Empire 蜀漢 (221-263)
Capital: Chengdu 成都 (modern Chengdu, Sichuan)
Shu Zhaoliedi 蜀昭烈帝, The The First Ruler (Xianzhu) 蜀先主 (r. 221-222)
----Zhangwu 章武 221-222
Liu Bei 劉備
The Last Ruler (Houzhu) 蜀後主, Duke of Anle 安樂公 (r. 223-263)
-----Jianxing 建興 223-237
-----Yanxi 延熙 238-257
-----Jingyao 景耀 258-262
-----Yanxing 炎興 263
Liu Shan (not: Chan!) 劉禪
263 empire of Shu conquered by Wei.

Source: Zhonguo lishi da cidian bianzuan weiyuanhui 中國歷史大辭典編纂委員會 (ed. 2000), Zhongguo lishi da cidian 中國歷史大辭典 (Shanghai: Shanghai cishu chubanshe), Vol.2, pp. 3315-3316.

October 30, 2011 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail

Map and Geography

Event History

Emperors and Rulers

Government and Administration

Literature and Philosophy


Technology and Inventions