An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History and Literature

Quan Liao-Jin shi 全遼金詩

Aug 24, 2022 © Ulrich Theobald

Quan Liao-Jin shi 全遼金詩 is a complete collection of regular poems (shi 詩) from the Liao 遼 (907-1125) and Jin 金 (1115-1234) empires. It was compiled by Yan Fengwu 閻鳳梧 and Kang Jinsheng 康金聲 and was seen as a supplement to the collection Quansongci 全宋詩. The collection assembles 11,662 poems, 8,299 titles of poems, and 398 fragments of a total of 716 writers. The poems cover all usual genres from old-style poetry (gushi shi 古體詩) imitating the pre-Tang period 唐 (618-907) style, “modern” poems (jinti shi 近體詩), song-verses in popular style (gexing 歌行), elegies (sao 騷) and ballads and sayings (yaoyan 謡諺).

The book begins with the earliest traces of poetry among the Kitans (Ch. Qidan 契丹) and ends around 1271, with the conquest of the Jin empire by the Mongols. All sources are presented, and words were critically checked.

It was published in 1999 by the Shanxi Guji Press 山西古籍出版社.