An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History and Literature

Daoshu jicheng 道書集成

Sep 9, 2021 © Ulrich Theobald

Daoshu jicheng 道書集成 is a collection of Daoist writings in 60 volumes. It was published in 1999 by the Jiuzhou Tushu Chubanshe 九洲圖書出版社 and compiled under the guidance of Tang Yijie 湯一介 (1927-2014).

The collection includes facsimiles of the complete Daoist Canon (Zhengtong) Daozang (正統)道藏 (1,441 texts) from the Ming period 明 (1368-1644) as well as books not being part of this traditional collection, for instance 53 texts of the (Wanli) Xu daozang (萬歷)續道藏. The compilers supplemented texts found in various libraries in China and abroad, Daoist temples, in private possession, or published in the one or other series of collectanea (congshu 叢書). The complete series includes 1,878 texts.