CHINAKNOWLEDGE - a universal guide for China studies | HOME | About
Encoding: Unicode (UTF-8) [Location: HOME > Literature > Masters and philosophers > Confucian treatises > Xinshu]

Chinese Literature
Xinshu 新書 "New Writings"

The Xinshu 新書 "New writings" is a political treatise written by the Former Han period 前漢 (206 BCE-8 CE) writer Jia Yi 賈誼. It is also called Jiazi 賈子 "Master Jia", or Jia Yi Xinshu 賈誼新書. The book is 58 chapters long and arranged in 10 juan "scrolls". Two chapters are lost (Wenxiao 問孝 and Lirongyu A 禮容語上). Although some ancient scholars doubted the authenticity of Jia Yi's authorship it is now assumed that he has in fact authored the book, at least a great part of the treatises. The book is based on the observation of the reasons why the Qin dynasty 秦 (221-206 BCE) failed and what the rulers of the Han might do to enjoy a longer rule. The core point is that the people is seen as the foundation of the empire and should accordingly be treated benevolently. But at the same time Jia Yi stresses that the central government has to be strengthened and the local powerholders (zhuhou wang 諸侯王 "princes and nobles") have to be weakened. The peasants have to be supported, as the root of all state income, while the merchants had to be suppressed.
The most widespread edition of the Xinshu is included in the reprint series Sibu congkan 四部叢刊. It is also included in the Baoyutang congshu 抱語堂叢書, the Longxi jingshe congshu 龍溪精舍叢書, and the collection Zhuzi jicheng 諸子集成.

Source: Ge Rongjin 葛榮晉 (1987). "Xinshu 新書", in: Zhongguo da baike quanshu 中國大百科全書, Zhexue 哲學, vol. 2, pp. 1023-1024. Beijing/Shanghai: Zhongguo da baike quanshu chubanshe.

1a.-b. 過秦上下 Guoqin A-B
2. 宗首 Zongshou
3. 數寧 Shuning
4. 藩傷 Fanshang
5. 藩彊 Fanqiang
6. 大都 Liudu
7. 等齊 Dengqi
8. 服疑 Fuyi
9. 益壤 Yirang
10. 權重 Quanzhong
11. 五美 Wumei
12. 制不定 Zhibuding
13. 審微 Shenwei
14. 階級 Jieji
15. 俗激 Sujiao
16. 時變 Shibian
17. 瑰瑋 Guihui
18. 孽產子 Niechanzi
19. 銅布 Tongbu
20. 壹通 Yitong
21. 屬遠 Shuyuan
22. 親疏危亂 Qinshu weiluan
23. 憂民 Youmin
24. 解縣 Jiexian
25. 威不信 Weibuxin
26. 匈奴 Xiongnu
27. 勢卑 Shibei
28. 淮難 Huainan
29. 無蓄 Wuchu
30. 鑄錢 Zhuqian
31. 傅職 Fuzhi
32. 保傅 Baofu
33. 連語 Lianyu
34. 輔佐 Fuzuo
35. 問孝 Wenxiao
36. 禮 Li
37. 容經 Rongjing
38. 春秋 Chunqiu
39. 先醒 Xianxing
40. 耳痺 Erbi
41. 諭誠 Yucheng
42. 退讓 Tuirang
43. 君道 Jundao
44. 官人 Guanren
45. 勸學 Quanxue
46. 道術 Daoshu
47. 六術 Liushu
48. 道德說 Daodeshuo
49a. 大政上下 Dazheng A-B
50a. 脩政語上下 Youzhengyu A-B
51a. 禮容語上下 Lirongyu A-B
52. 胎教 Taijiao
53. 立後義 Lihouyi
Chinese literature according to the four-category system

November 15, 2010 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail